2022 AGM

Chairs report 2022

Thanks to all attendees for coming to the AGM and the Executive commit for all their efforts during 2022.

Friends and members who passed away during the year. Minutes silence.

Mike Cowan, Joan Carmichael and Jane Creamer.


2022 Playing season.

W&G season.

Hard Ball from Shell Styring.

Won promotion to the Premier league for 2023 by beating Rockingham in the final game of the season.

Runner up in the T20 super 8’s

Notable performances. 5wkts in an innings for Shell Styring.

50’s for Ali March, Shell Stryring and Lucy Randall-Bissell.


Soft Ball from Maggie Widdup.

Played in Div 3 in 7 fixtures plus 1 friendly winning 4 of the 8 played. Also played in the league plate final losing narrowly.

Diverse age range with a 14 yo being the youngest. 

Player numbers increasing year on year. Nets commencing in Jan 2023 at Ridgewood school.

 Senior season.

1st team retained Premier league status. Runner up in T20 Blast.

Notable performances. 100’s for Umar Amin, Jayden Fell and Charlie Kaye.

5 wkts in an innings by Umar Amin, James Keast and James Dobson.

2nd team. Promoted from Div.1 to the championship. DTCC on 1 of 3 clubs with Prem and Championship sides.

Notable performances. 100’s for George Fisher and Rob Grace.

5 wkts in an innings for Warren Grace and Brad Heaps.

3rd team Promoted to Div 4. Like 2nd team second successive promotion.

Notable performances . 100’s for Jak Hotchkiss

5 wkts in an innings by Joe Woodiwiss, Harry Zuurbier and Chris Dobson.

4th. Team. Finished 4th in Div. Again, bringing through many young players.

Notable performances. 100’s for Jak Hotchkiss and Ramanan Raj

5 wkts in an innings for Tom Biltcliffe, Iain Wormald and Glyn Booth.

Evening League. Winners of the League cup. 3rd in the League.

Winning both Semi final and final by 10 wkts.

Barnsley league. Promoted to Div.2 Winners of Div 3.

Notable performances. 100’s by Ollie Cheesewright, Ben Taylor, Ryan Capstick and Jak Hotchkiss.

5 wkts in an innings by Ben Taylor, Iain Wormald, Fin Tuman and Dan Horrocks.


Junior Season.

U9’s Competed in the Doncaster League. Sheffield league disrupted by league moving fixture days.

U11’s from Andy Halliday. 

Competed in 2 semi finals and 2 finals winning the Doncaster League cup. Mostly very young players. Still to be involved next season.


U13’s from Sajid Karim.

Played over 40 games across the Doncaster, Sheffield and Wakefield leagues & Cup plus Nat KO

Sheffield – Jack Bland Div 1 Winners.

Wakefield – Group B league winners and overall winners beating Goole in the final

Wakefield Cup winners – beating Ackworth in the final

Doncaster league winners .

Doncaster cup winners beating Fishlake in the final.

Yorks finalist in U13 Nat KO.


U15’s from Glyn Booth.

The team performed above expectation and finished 2nd in the Wakefield league and got to 2 semi-finals, both of which we were close to winning.  Hopefully this additional experience for the U13’s who played up will benefit them now they are moving to U15’s next season. 


U18’s from Des Whittaker.

Winners of the Sheffield League Ivan Priestley trophy. Finals Day runners up losing by 1 run 


Awards and representative 

Rhys McPhee winner of the Pete McConachie Award.

Natalie Brown Winner of the Gary Plevey Award.


Natalie Brown and Lucy Randel-Bissell both played Yorks U15’s and Northern Diamonds.


Ewan Whittaker played Yorks U16’s

Ollie Booth played S. Yorks U15’s

Harry Leach, Usmaan Shabir, George Hewson, Finley Truman played S. Yorks U13’s

Etan Patel Played Yorks U13’s


Oliver Scott, Louis Bellwood and Aahan Muttana Played Yorks U11’s

Riya Kaur played S. Yorks U11 girls.



Thanks and Appreciation.


Individuals who I want to thank.

Gareth Horrocks (Beef) for the work done preparing the ground both at Bennetthorpe and Finningley. Hottest summer on record and having to prepare so many wickets. Plus the volunteers who assist on match days.


James Ward for his continued work in the name of DTCC, both on the pitch and with fund raising.


Nick Johnson the sponsors boards and legends nights.

Ian Garbutt for the Golf day.


Lynn for the teas. In her last season. We are looking for options in this area for 2023. Following the decision by the League which means that every game must have a tea provided. The result is a massive cost to the club, potentially losing over £4k in the season. Proposals are requested from members how this shortfall can be covered. 



Finally, I would like to thank all the club members, officials and supporters for making my first year as chair so enjoyable.

My personal highlights include seeing the 2nds promoted to the Championship, the increase in the 100’s scored by our batsmen, the improvement of the social mix of the teams and the team spirit that it created. And the warm reception given to both Olie Churchill and Joe Graca at the clubs’ presentation night.


 I would like to congratulate all the players for their commitment during 2022 and wish everyone a good winter and look forward to next season.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *